2 Peter 3:18

Is God good? Has He given you anything but good? When you stand before Him some day, is there something you will be able to accuse Him of, or will “…every mouth…be stopped?” (Romans‬ ‭3:19‬)

“But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be the glory both now and forever. Amen.” (‭‭II Peter‬ ‭3:18‬)

God has given me nothing but good. When people look at my life they might see certain trying or more difficult situations, but the truth is that He has showered on me blessing after blessing, good upon good. It is really true that “…of His fullness we have all received, and grace for grace.”(‭‭John‬ ‭1:16‬) When I stand before Him, there will be no accusation I can bring before Him of some good He didn’t do for me–He did it all. Really.

Jesus, obviously. Jesus died for all people, but specifically for me too.

And, He works in me–He is forming “Christ in me, the hope of glory.” (Colossians 1:27) That process has to hurt in some way because otherwise I would have no reason to become anything other than the sin-infested human I was born. It is the painful chiseling of the Master Sculptor that takes the unappealing lump of raw stone that I am and makes out of me, through each and every painful refining chisel, more of what He want to see me as.

And it is not a physical transformation; it is spiritual. It is how I “grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.” (II Peter‬ ‭3:18‬) It is how I love Him more, how I talk to Him more–really talk to Him. How I care that I am following and worshipping who He genuinely is–who He’s told us He is in His Word–not another god I’ve made up in my own mind. It is my heartfelt concern that I’ll really be overjoyed to stand before Him that day–not ashamed or terrified because I’ve lived in sin or failed to do something I should have.

It is also how I’m concerned that I really know Him, that I love Him–not just think I do. “If you love Me, keep My commandments,” He said. (John‬ ‭14:15‬) It is also how I recognize that the greatest work He does in me can be done regardless of my outward circumstances–of who I am, where I am, even of the condition of the body I inhabit. It’s why He was able to use for the furtherance of His kingdom Corrie ten Boom and countless other Christians in circumstances I cannot even imagine finding myself in–although in which I might yet find myself someday, as He sees fit–and that too, will be for His further glory.

It is seeing that I exist expressly for Him and His purposes. Jesus told this parable to help us understand:

“Suppose one of you has a servant who has been plowing the ground or caring for the sheep. When the servant comes in from working in the field, would you say, ‘Come in and sit down to eat’? No, you would say to him, ‘Prepare something for me to eat. Then get yourself ready and serve me. After I finish eating and drinking, you can eat.’ The servant does not get any special thanks for doing what his master commanded. It is the same with you. When you have done everything you are told to do, you should say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done the work we should do.’ ” (‭‭Luke‬ ‭17:7-10‬ ‭NCV‬‬)

Much of this is lost on us these days in our egalitarian society, but that is the way you treat a servant: he exists–his life work is–to serve his master. The same is true of us–we exist to serve our heavenly Master. 

And just as the flowers and the trees and the thunder and everything else in the natural world does not fail to glorify God–to be virtuous, which means to do what it was created to do–in the same way it is my duty as His forgiven, loved child to spend my life here on this earth–as long as He leaves me here–reflecting Him.

So, is God good? Can you rightly not accuse Him of withholding anything  good from you? If so, are you growing in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever (!)?

Dear Lord,

Let me be the person You want me to be. Let me reflect You, and bring You glory! Amen.

  

About essentialdailyscriptures

Do you want to grow in your knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, but aren’t sure where to start? Essential Daily Scriptures is a ministry for people who want to study God’s Word, but don’t have a lot of time. Each day’s study covers one verse and takes approximately fifteen minutes, incorporating significant amounts of Scripture directly from the NKJV Bible, so you’re able to get right into God’s Word with a minimal time investment on a daily basis. May “the Father of glory…give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him.” (Ephesians 1:17b)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

