I Corinthians 10:31

Why do you exist–what is your reason for living? Why is it that you get up each morning and begin anew the activities of your day and your life? Are you just a hamster on a wheel, purposelessly going through the motions simply for their own sake, or is there a greater reason for your existence? Some might say there is not, others might say that we exist for whatever reason we individually determine–such as to earn a living and support our families, or accomplish some other personally determined goal–but the holy inspired Word of God tells us otherwise.

“Therefore…whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” (I Corinthians 10:31)

‭‭There is a reason why we exist–it is for the specific and express purpose of bringing God glory. While each of us have varying other responsibilities, as we go through the motions of our particular daily lives our PURPOSE is to comport ourselves in a manner that brings glory to Him–that rightly reflects the character of the Spirit of God in us. 

It is interesting to note that within all of creation nothing fails to bring Him glory except mankind. Psalm 66:4 tells us “All the earth worships you and sings praises to you. They sing praises to your name.” (NCV‬‬) Psalm 19:1-4 says, “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the skies announce what his hands have made. Day after day they tell the story; night after night they tell it again. They have no speech or words; they have no voice to be heard. But their message goes out through all the world; their words go everywhere on earth…” (NCV‬‬) Because of the sin we are infected with, it is mankind alone which fails to bring God the glory it rightly should. Yet when we fail to bring Him glory, we also experience an emptiness within ourselves.

If you’ve lived for any degree of time, it becomes painfully clear that there has to be more–there has to be a higher purpose for our existence. Solomon, the man famous for being wisest of all men, struggled with this reality:

“These are the words of the Teacher, a son of David, king in Jerusalem. The Teacher says, “Useless! Useless! Completely useless! Everything is useless.” What do people really gain from all the hard work they do here on earth? People live, and people die, but the earth continues forever. The sun rises, the sun sets, and then it hurries back to where it rises again. The wind blows to the south; it blows to the north. It blows from one direction and then another. Then it turns around and repeats the same pattern, going nowhere. All the rivers flow to the sea, but the sea never becomes full. Everything is boring, so boring that you don’t even want to talk about it. Words come again and again to our ears, but we never hear enough, nor can we ever really see all we want to see. All things continue the way they have been since the beginning. What has happened will happen again; there is nothing new here on earth. Someone might say, “Look, this is new,” but really it has always been here. It was here before we were. People don’t remember what happened long ago, and in the future people will not remember what happens now. Even later, other people will not remember what was done before them.

I, the Teacher, was king over Israel in Jerusalem. I decided to use my wisdom to learn about everything that happens on earth. I learned that God has given us terrible things to face. I looked at everything done on earth and saw that it is all useless, like chasing the wind. If something is crooked, you can’t make it straight. If something is missing, you can’t say it is there. I said to myself, “I have become very wise and am now wiser than anyone who ruled Jerusalem before me. I know what wisdom and knowledge really are.” So I decided to find out about wisdom and knowledge and also about foolish thinking, but this turned out to be like chasing the wind. With much wisdom comes much disappointment; the person who gains more knowledge also gains more sorrow.

I said to myself, “I will try having fun. I will enjoy myself.” But I found that this is also useless. It is foolish to laugh all the time, and having fun doesn’t accomplish anything. I decided to cheer myself up with wine while my mind was still thinking wisely. I wanted to find a way to enjoy myself and see what was good for people to do during their few days of life. Then I did great things: I built houses and planted vineyards for myself. I made gardens and parks, and I planted all kinds of fruit trees in them. I made pools of water for myself and used them to water my growing trees. I bought male and female slaves, and slaves were also born in my house. I had large herds and flocks, more than anyone in Jerusalem had ever had before. I also gathered silver and gold for myself, treasures from kings and other areas. I had male and female singers and all the women a man could ever want. I became very famous, even greater than anyone who had lived in Jerusalem before me. My wisdom helped me in all this. Anything I saw and wanted, I got for myself; I did not miss any pleasure I desired. I was pleased with everything I did, and this pleasure was the reward for all my hard work. But then I looked at what I had done, and I thought about all the hard work. Suddenly I realized it was useless, like chasing the wind. There is nothing to gain from anything we do here on earth.” (Ecclesiastes‬ ‭1:1-2:11 NCV)

Solomon had both the resources and the time to experience all the world has to offer, yet his conclusion was that neither human accomplishment, education, or pleasure–nothing apart from God–can fill that void and provide true satisfaction. This is because not only the natural world, but we too, were created to bring God glory. And when we are not plugged into Him and His purposes life has no real meaning!

Yet when we do line ourselves up with God–when we get right with Him and live in obedience to His Word–we correctly reflect His character to those around us and become usable by Him for drawing others to Christ, because Christ is beautiful–and that is when our life becomes truly meaningful! It is only when we say that we are His and sin that we misrepresent God to the world around us.

So, why do you exist? Why do you get up afresh each morning? I hope it is to bring glory to God–to live your life in a way that correctly reflects the character of God to those around you and draws them to Him!

Dear Lord,

Help me bring You glory by correctly representing You to those around me! Amen.

  

About essentialdailyscriptures

Do you want to grow in your knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, but aren’t sure where to start? Essential Daily Scriptures is a ministry for people who want to study God’s Word, but don’t have a lot of time. Each day’s study covers one verse and takes approximately fifteen minutes, incorporating significant amounts of Scripture directly from the NKJV Bible, so you’re able to get right into God’s Word with a minimal time investment on a daily basis. May “the Father of glory…give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him.” (Ephesians 1:17b)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

