Romans 12:2

Are people looking at you? And when they do, do they see you obeying Jesus? Do you consistently live your life in a way that reflects Him rightly, bringing Him glory as one who claims to belong to a holy God should? Whether we recognize it or not, once we identify with Christ we become walking, talking, living, breathing representatives of Him to those around us.

“…that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” (Romans 12:2)

One of the most difficult admissions I’ve ever had to make to myself is that it does, indeed, matter how I, personally, live. Speaking up about the truth of the Bible to the people I know is the spiritual equivalent of painting a bulls-eye on myself. Every single activity I engage in, every single decision I make, every single act I do, reflects on Jesus because I’ve self-identified as His follower. Others around me know that I claim to be a Christian, and whether they recognize it or not, when they look at me they are seeing if they will get a glimpse of Him. So the question becomes, DO they actually see Him in me? Do I correctly reflect Jesus, the holy Son of God, to a fallen world? Am I proving to them what the good, acceptable, and perfect will of God is as I live it out through my daily life? Or, are they seeing just another person? If I am honest, I must admit that I am not yet doing this right.

 Remaining silent about our beliefs is, of course, an alternative, but it isn’t the right one. Jesus said, “Whoever is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of them when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.” (‭‭Luke‬ ‭9:26‬ ‭NIV‬‬) He also told us to, “…go and make disciples of all nations…teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” (Matthew‬ ‭28:19-20‬ ‭NIV‬‬) No, we MUST speak up. We cannot keep silent about what is right, because belief that isn’t lived out isn’t real, and if I am ashamed of my Lord He will someday be ashamed of Me. Yet as we do so, we must be mindful of the fact that others ae watching. So what does this mean? 

It means that I must leave my home early enough so I don’t feel that I must break the law by speeding to be on time. It means that when others speak badly about someone, I do not join in. It means that I call upon the power Jesus freely gives to respond in each and every situation of life in a way He would have me respond, one that most honors Him–because by consistently doing so I “prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God” to those who do not yet know Him!

Dear Lord,

Help me daily prove what is Your good and acceptable and perfect will to those around me. Amen.

  

About essentialdailyscriptures

Do you want to grow in your knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, but aren’t sure where to start? Essential Daily Scriptures is a ministry for people who want to study God’s Word, but don’t have a lot of time. Each day’s study covers one verse and takes approximately fifteen minutes, incorporating significant amounts of Scripture directly from the NKJV Bible, so you’re able to get right into God’s Word with a minimal time investment on a daily basis. May “the Father of glory…give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him.” (Ephesians 1:17b)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

